Coombe Road Primary School

Coombe Road Primary School

Every child, every family and every moment matters.

Milner Road, Brighton, East Sussex, BN2 4BP

01273 077130

Our Governing Body

Our Governing Body

The school has a governing body of twelve members, made up of three elected parent governors, one local authority governor, one member of staff, one headteacher governor and six co-opted governors. The chair of governors is Peter Freeman.  

The governors work with senior leaders in the strategic development of the school and in raising standards of achievement. Duties include setting the school’s vision, aims and objectives, approving the school budget and appointing the headteacher.

Governors must support and challenge the headteacher, so need to gain an understanding of the school’s overall performance in order to explain its decisions and actions. They do this by attending regular meetings, carrying out school visits and meeting with senior leaders. They also attend training in order to keep up to date with the requirements of their role. Governors work as a team and make collective decisions. Our handbook for governors is available below. 

Members of the governing body

The current members of the governing body are listed below:

Some functions are delegated to committees. Currently the board have 1 committee.

Resources Committee

Chair: Chris Piper

This committee's role includes:

  • to establish and maintain an up to date financial plan;
  • to make decisions on expenditure and to draft the first formal budget plan of the financial year;
  • to establish a pay policy; and
  • to draft and keep under review the staffing structure in consultation with the Headteacher.

This committee also functions as the Pay Committee when appropriate.

The full Terms of Reference for this committee are currently being updated.


The Clerk to Governors is Chelle McCann. Her email address is

 List of acronyms used in education_January 2021.pdfDownload
Showing 1-2 of 2


Minutes of Governor meetings and attendance are available via Chelle McCann, Clerk to Govenors. Please contact the Clerk to Governors:

Back to the Top